The Central Ohio Balloon Club was founded in 1982. Joe Bookhammer, Sue Warner, Bob Henry, Jane Henry, Dan O'Brien and Linda O'Brien were some of the founding members.

In 1982, membership dues were $10 annually. Three Club Newsletters were published in the first year of the organization. Newsletters communicated information about local, national and international balloon events; safety topics and other items of interest to Club Members. 

Sadly, the Central Ohio Balloon Club was impacted when the Bogey Inn Balloon struck the WBNS tower on Tuesday, December 11, 1990. Eric Ingwersen, Scott D. Meeker, Doug Shirey, and Katherine L. Nemes, lost their lives in the accident. A plaque to commemorate these individuals was placed at the Bogey Inn until it closed in 2022. The plaque has since been relocated to the Union County Airport in Marysville, Ohio. 

The members of the Central Ohio Balloon Club have supported many local balloon rallies over the years. Several COBC Members have served as the Balloonmeister at the Big Bear Balloon Festival, Balloons Off Broadway, Grove City Balloons & Tunes, the All Ohio Balloon Fest and Liberty Lift-Off over the years.